School term and holiday dates

Find term and holiday dates for schools in Suffolk, including dates for the next school year.

Download the school term dates calendar for 2019 to 2020 (PDF, 136KB).

Autumn term

Starts Monday 2 September 2019
Half term Monday 21 October 2019 to Friday 25 October 2019
Ends Thursday 19 December 2019
Christmas holiday Friday 20 December 2019 to Sunday 5 January 2020

 

Spring term

Starts Monday 6 January 2020
Half term Monday 17 February 2020 to Friday 21 February 2020
Ends Thursday 2 April 2020
Spring (Easter) holiday Friday 3 April 2020 to Sunday 19 April 2020 (includes Bank Holidays)

 

Summer term

Starts Monday 20 April 2020
Half term Monday 25 May 2020 (May Bank Holiday) to Friday 29 May 2020
Ends Wednesday 22 July 2020
Summer holiday Thursday 23 July 2020 to Monday 31 August 2020

 

Non-pupil days or 'PD' days

Monday 2 September 2019 and Tuesday 3 September 2019 are recommended PD days.

All schools set 5 teacher training days called Professional Development (PD) days. 2 of these PD days are recommended by Suffolk County Council at the start of the Autumn (September, 2 days) term.

The remaining 3 PD days are set by the schools in agreement with other schools in their pyramid.

Contact your school for details of the extra dates.

Academies and Free Schools can set their own term dates.

Autumn term

Starts

Tuesday 1 September 2020

Half term

Monday 26 October 2020 to Friday 30 October 2020

Ends

Friday 18 December 2020

Christmas holiday

Saturday 19 December 2020 to Sunday 3 January 2021

 

Spring term

Starts

Monday 4 January 2021

Half term

Monday 15 February 2021 to Friday 19 February 2021

Ends

Friday 26 March 2021

Spring (Easter) holiday

Saturday 27 March 2021 to Sunday 11 April 2021 (includes Bank Holidays)

 

Summer term

Starts Monday 12 April 2021
Half term Monday 31 May 2021 (May Bank Holiday) to Friday 4 June 2021
Ends Tuesday 20 July 2021
Summer holiday Wednesday 21 July 2021 to Tuesday 31 August 2021

Please note: Most schools in Suffolk follow these dates. You can check with your child's school to confirm. 

Non-pupil days or 'PD' days

All schools set 5 teacher training days called Professional Development (PD) days.

Tuesday 1 September 2020, Wednesday 2 September 2020, Monday 2 November 2020, Monday 4 January 2021 and Friday 12 February 2021 are Suffolk County Council's recommended PD days.

Contact your school for details of the dates.

Academies and Free Schools can set their own term dates.

Find information about school attendance and penalty notices.