Chairman of the Council

Information about the Chairman and Vice Chairman of Suffolk County Council.

Chairman of the Council: Councillor Graham Newman

Term of Office: 27 May 2021 to 19 May 2022

The main responsibilities of the Chairman of the Council include upholding the constitution of the county council, principally through presiding over meetings of the council.

A large part of the Chairman's role is to represent the county council at civic and ceremonial events, promote the County, encourage greater partnership working, and act as an ambassador and champion for Suffolk.

The Chairman is neutral and non-executive Civic Head for the county council.

Contacting the Chairman of the Council 

  • Chairman's Office: 01473 264004; opening hours 9.00 am to 5.00 pm
  • Chairman's Assistant: Sue Bennitt
  • Email:
Councillor Graham Newman

Vice Chairman of the Council: Councillor Robert Everitt

Term of Office: 27 May 2021 to 19 May 2022

Contacting the Vice Chairman of the Council 

Robert Everitt WS HR 21

Suffolk County Council has developed role profiles which give an indication of the skills a councillor may need and responsibilities they may have during their term of office.