Skip to main content

Early years foundation stage (EYFS)

Framework that sets the standards for learning, development and care for pre-school children from birth to 5 years.

What is the early years foundation stage? (EYFS)

The early years foundation stage is how the government and early years professionals describe the time in your child's life between birth and age 5 years. 

The framework for the early years foundation stage sets the standards for learning, development and care for children during this period. Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders must follow this.

You can ask for information about your child's development at any time, and there are two stages when the professionals caring for your child must give you written information about how he or she is doing.

The stages are the 'progress check' at age 2, and again at age 5. The written summary of their progress at age 5 is called the EYFS Profile.

How can I help with my child's learning?

All the activities that you do with your child at home are important in supporting their learning and development. They have a really long lasting effect on your child's learning as they progress towards and through school.

For example:

  • talking
  • reading
  • singing nursery rhymes
  • cooking and baking

Even when your child is very young and not able to talk, you talking to them helps them to learn and understand new words and ideas.

You can also support your child's learning by finding out what's on offer at your local health and children's centre.