Information about LEADER

Suffolk County Council is the accountable body for the LEADER rural funding programme in Suffolk and North Essex.

EAFRD logo

LEADER provides grants for rural businesses or organisations. Funding is provided by the EU's Rural Development Programme England (RDPE) and the Department for Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA).

The funding is granted by Local Action Groups (LAG) made up of individuals from the public, private and voluntary sector. 

Between 2015 to 2020 the funding priorities for LEADER are:LEADER logo

  • micro and small enterprises and farm diversification
  • increasing farm productivity
  • rural tourism
  • increasing forestry productivity
  • provision of rural services and local business support services
  • cultural and heritage activity

A key priority of the programme is that the majority of grants should contribute to jobs being created. You can find out more about LEADER programmes on GOV.UK.

The programme has now closed to applications but you can find out about more about the programme below.

Wool Towns area

The Wool Towns area is the majority of the Babergh and Braintree District Council areas, and includes parts of Colchester BoroughSt EdmundsburyMid Suffolk and Tendring District Council.

Heritage Coast area

The Heritage Coast area is the Suffolk Coastal District Council area and the majority of the Tendring District Council area as well as smaller parts of WaveneyBabergh and Mid Suffolk District Council areas.