

Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 13 July 2023, vote taken on Motion 2.

Motion 2 – Proposed by Councillor Robert Lindsay and seconded by Councillor Andrew Stringer.

Motion Text:

- 1. Suffolk's road network includes highways ranging from high quality carriageways to twisting narrow roads where the "national" speed limit of 60mph applies yet where, for long stretches, the average vehicle speed is significantly less than the national speed limit.
- 2. This council believes that, where this is the case, a lower speed limit other than 60mph would encourage many drivers to slow to a more appropriate, safer speed, thereby reducing accidents and making roads safer for all users of such roads. The councils' current criteria for changing speed limits have not been reviewed since 2014.
- 3. The council will therefore agree to set up a cross party working group to review the criteria for changing speed limits bearing in mind the principle in item 2 and report back with a reviewed set of criteria for cabinet approval within six months.

Total results	
For	15
Against	37
Abstain	

Conservative Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back		Against	
Peter Beer		Against	
Bobby Bennett		Against	
Stuart Bird		Against	
Elaine Bryce		Against	
Stephen Burroughes			
Nadia Cenci			
Jenny Ceresa			
Chris Chambers		Against	
Judy Cloke		Against	
Andy Drummond			
Robert Everitt		Against	
Philip Faircloth-Mutton			
James Finch			
Jessica Fleming		Against	
Mick Fraser			

David Goldsmith		
Peter Gould		
Georgia Hall	Against	
Liz Harsant	Against	
Ryan Harvey	Against	
T-J Haworth-Culf		
Matthew Hicks	Against	
Rachel Hood	Against	
Beccy Hopfensperger	Against	
Christopher Hudson	Against	
Michael Ladd	Against	
Stuart Lawson		
Joe Mason	Against	
Debbie McCallum	Against	
Patti Mulcahy	Against	
Sam Murray	Against	
David Nettleton		
Alexander Nicoll		
Colin Noble	Against	
Kay Oakes		
James Reeder	Against	
Andrew Reid	Against	
Debbie Richards	Against	
Craig Rivett	Against	
David Roach	Against	
Keith Robinson	Against	
Richard Rout	Against	
Richard Smith MVO	Against	
Karen Soons		
Heike Sowa	Against	
Joanna Spicer	Against	
Lance Stanbury		
Jamie Starling	Against	
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro	Against	
Paul West	Against	
Steve Wiles	Against	
Nathan Wilson	Against	

Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Seamus Bennett	For		
Jessie Carter	For		
Annette Dunning			
Simon Harley			
Richard Kemp			
Ash Lever	For		
Robert Lindsay	For		
Inga Lockington	For		
Victor Lukaniuk	For		
Andy Mellen	For		
Penny Otton	For		
Keith Scarff	For		
Andrew Stringer	For		
Caroline Topping	For		
Keith Welham			

Labour Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams	For		
Rob Bridgeman			
Elizabeth Johnson	For		
Sandy Martin	For		
Lucy Smith	For		

Ungrouped Councillor

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Peter Thompson			