

Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 13 July 2023, vote taken on Motion 1.

Motion 1 – Proposed by Councillor Matthew Hicks and seconded by Councillor Richard Smith MVO.

Motion Text: Figures from the Society for Motor Manufacturers and Traders show that in 2022 the number of vehicles on UK roads reached an all-time high of 40.72 million, including a record 1.1 million electric cars. Furthermore, between 2011 and 2021 the number of households with two or more cars or vans increased by 17%.

This Council recognises that many of our residents are concerned by new residential developments in Suffolk being consented and built with insufficient car parking provision and we can all cite bad examples of this from the recent past.

It is the view of the Council that its minimum parking standards, set out in the 2019 Suffolk Parking Guidance, are not consistently upheld and too often the minimum parking requirements are relaxed in inappropriate locations due to the often spurious arguments of developers.

The Council notes that the Suffolk Parking Guidance, last updated in 2019, is currently being reviewed with a rightful focus on, amongst other things, EV charging provision and secure cycle storage. This document also focuses on the equally important issue of design and placement to ensure that high quality, useable spaces are incorporated within developments.

Furthermore, the Council recognises that, as a rural county, many Suffolk residents rely on car travel and that the viability of our town centres and businesses relies on accessibility by car in addition to other sustainable means.

In the context of record numbers of vehicles on UK roads, the rural nature of our County and local concern over inadequate parking provision in many new developments the council resolves to:

- i. Write to the Heads of Planning and relevant Cabinet members at Suffolk's District and Borough Council's, underlining the importance of these minimum parking standards and requesting that these are not relaxed inappropriately.
- ii. Instruct County Council officers that when responding, as local highways authority, to local planning applications we should rigorously uphold the minimum parking standards and object to any scheme where these standards are inappropriately reduced.
- iii. Continue with its review of the Suffolk Parking Guidance and enhance the ask of developers to ensure the best possible parking provision for all vehicles, including bicycles, alongside access to appropriate EV charging infrastructure.'

Total results	
For	43
Against	9
Abstain	5

Conservative Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back	For		
Peter Beer	For		
Bobby Bennett	For		
Stuart Bird	For		
Elaine Bryce	For		
Stephen Burroughes	1 01		
Nadia Cenci	For		
Jenny Ceresa	1 01		
Chris Chambers	For		
Judy Cloke	For		
Andy Drummond	1 01		
Robert Everitt	For		
Philip Faircloth-Mutton	1 01		
James Finch	For		
Jessica Fleming	For		
Mick Fraser	1 01		
David Goldsmith			
Peter Gould			
Georgia Hall	For		
Liz Harsant	For		
Ryan Harvey	For		
T-J Haworth-Culf	1 01		
Matthew Hicks	For		
Rachel Hood	For		
	For		
Beccy Hopfensperger Christopher Hudson	For		
Michael Ladd	For		
Stuart Lawson	For		
Joe Mason	For		
Debbie McCallum	For		
Patti Mulcahy	For		
Sam Murray	For		
David Nettleton			
Alexander Nicoll	F		
Colin Noble	For		
Kay Oakes	+-		
James Reeder	For		
Andrew Reid	For		
Debbie Richards	For		
Craig Rivett	For		

David Roach	For	
Keith Robinson	For	
Richard Rout	For	
Richard Smith MVO	For	
Karen Soons		
Heike Sowa	For	
Joanna Spicer	For	
Lance Stanbury		
Jamie Starling	For	
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro	For	
Paul West	For	
Steve Wiles	For	
Nathan Wilson	For	

Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Seamus Bennett		Against	
Jessie Carter		Against	
Annette Dunning	For		
Simon Harley			
Richard Kemp			
Ash Lever		Against	
Robert Lindsay		Against	
Inga Lockington			Abstain
Victor Lukaniuk		Against	
Andy Mellen		Against	
Penny Otton		Against	
Keith Scarff	For		
Andrew Stringer		Against	
Caroline Topping		Against	
Keith Welham			

Labour Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams			Abstain
Rob Bridgeman			
Elizabeth Johnson			Abstain
Sandy Martin			Abstain
Lucy Smith			Abstain

Ungrouped Councillor

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Peter Thompson	For		