

## Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 16 March 2023, vote taken on Motion 2 as amended.

Motion 2 – Proposed by Councillor Annette Dunning and seconded by Councillor Richard Rout.

Motion Text: "Four years have passed since this Council recommended and declared a climate emergency in Suffolk. With this declaration, the Council committed to the goal of making its buildings and services carbon neutral by 2030 and pledged to work with partners across the county and region, including the LEP and the Public Sector Leaders, towards the aspiration of making the county of Suffolk carbon neutral by 2030.

The Council notes that the administration has made firm initial strides towards this target, reducing measured emissions by 15% since 2020 and committing £12.8m, over the ten year period to 2030, to decarbonisation.

In addition, this Council notes the recent Scrutiny report, highlighting the calculated and forecasted emissions through the Council's Carbon Budget – which shows Suffolk County Council needs to develop and plan further interventions in order to achieve net zero by 2030.

This Council notes that since the carbon emergency declaration, made in 2019, an election has occurred – with 31 new Cllrs across all parties now in post. Since the election, both the 2022/23 and 2023/24 Annual Plans have restated this commitment to reach Net Zero by 2030. The Annual Plans were approved by Full Council in February 2022 and February 2023 respectively, with all members given the opportunity to vote on the content.

Notwithstanding this commitment being stated in the 2023/24 Annual Plan approved at Full Council last month, the Council takes this opportunity to reiterate, once again, its commitment to make its services carbon neutral by 2030 and support the County of Suffolk in its wider aspiration."

Total results	
For	51
Against	
Abstain	2

## **Conservative Group**

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back	For		
Peter Beer			
Bobby Bennett	For		
Stuart Bird	For		

For	
	Abstain
	7.10010111
For	
101	
For	
101	
For	
1 01	
For	
1 01	
For	
FOI	
For	
For	
<u> </u>	
For	
	Abstain
For	
For	
For	
For	
For	
For	
For	
For	
1 <u></u>	
For	
For	
For	
For	
	For For For

Steve Wiles		
Nathan Wilson	For	

Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Jessie Carter	For		
Annette Dunning	For		
Simon Harley	For		
Richard Kemp	For		
Ash Lever	For		
Robert Lindsay	For		
Inga Lockington	For		
Victor Lukaniuk	For		
Andy Mellen	For		
Penny Otton	For		
Caroline Page			
Keith Scarff	For		
Andrew Stringer	For		
Caroline Topping			
Keith Welham	For		

Labour Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams	For		
Rob Bridgeman	For		
Elizabeth Johnson	For		
Sandy Martin	For		
Bill Quinton	For		