

## Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 20 October 2022, vote taken on Motion 1.

Motion 1 – Proposed by Councillor Richard Smith MVO and seconded by Councillor Joe Mason.

Motion Text:

'This Council recognises that, over the last decade, we have demonstrated a strong track record on waste disposal. A consistently high-performing service each year has reduced the cost to Suffolk's Council Tax payers. This has been achieved through careful and effective procurement, alongside adroit contract and commercial management expertise, with timely investment in key infrastructure and, of course, strong collaborative working with our District and Borough colleagues through the Suffolk Waste Partnership.

The Council welcomes all government proposals designed to reduce waste and increase the proportion and types of waste recycled. The Council congratulates His Majesty's Government for continuing to improve waste disposal in the United Kingdom through the Environment Act 2021 but recognises that the proposed major changes to waste services may increase the financial burden on this authority.

Therefore, the Council resolves to write to The Rt Hon Ranil Jayawardena MP, Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, to ask that any additional responsibilities for local authorities come with a sufficient uplift in funding so that Suffolk County Council can commit to adopting the same proven approach to waste disposal in the years ahead.'

Total results	
For	56
Against	
Abstain	

## **Conservative Group**

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back	For		
Peter Beer	For		
Bobby Bennett	For		
Stuart Bird	For		
Elaine Bryce	For		
Stephen Burroughes	For		
Nadia Cenci	For		
Jenny Ceresa			
Chris Chambers	For		
Judy Cloke	For		
Andy Drummond			

Robert Everitt	For		
Philip Faircloth-Mutton	For		
James Finch			
Jessica Fleming	For		
Mick Fraser	For		
David Goldsmith			
Peter Gould	For		
Georgia Hall	For		
Liz Harsant	For		
Ryan Harvey			
T-J Haworth-Culf	For		
Matthew Hicks	For		
Rachel Hood	For		
Beccy Hopfensperger	For		
Christopher Hudson	For		
Michael Ladd	For		
Stuart Lawson			
Joe Mason	For		
Debbie McCallum	For		
Patti Mulcahy	For		
Sam Murray	For		
David Nettleton			
Graham Newman	For		
Alexander Nicoll			
Colin Noble			
Kay Oakes			
James Reeder	For		
Andrew Reid			
Debbie Richards	For		
Craig Rivett	For		
David Roach	For		
Keith Robinson	For		
Richard Rout	For		
Richard Smith MVO	For		
Karen Soons	For		
Heike Sowa	For		
Joanna Spicer	For		
Lance Stanbury			
Jamie Starling			
Peter Thompson	For		
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro	For		
Paul West	For		
Steve Wiles			
Nathan Wilson	For		
		1	I

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Jessie Carter	For		
Annette Dunning	For		
Simon Harley	For		
Richard Kemp	For		
Robert Lindsay	For		
Inga Lockington	For		
Victor Lukaniuk	For		
Andy Mellen	For		
Penny Otton	For		
Caroline Page			
Keith Scarff	For		
Andrew Stringer	For		
Caroline Topping	For		
Keith Welham	For		

## Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group

## Labour Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams			
Rob Bridgeman	For		
Elizabeth Johnson			
Sandy Martin	For		
Bill Quinton			