

## Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 7 July 2022, vote taken on Motion 2.

Motion 2 – Proposed by Councillor Jessie Carter and seconded by Councillor Simon Harley.

Motion Text: 'We as a county care about our citizens in Suffolk. This Council is proud to support those most vulnerable in our communities. The current crisis has left families falling deeper into fuel poverty, with some Suffolk households choosing either to feed their families, or heat their homes.

Initially, we ask this Council:

- 1. To declare that Suffolk has moved from a Cost-of-Living Crisis, to a Cost-of-Living Emergency;
- 2. To call for an urgent internal review, in conjunction with our s.151 Officer, into what SCC can offer those most vulnerable and those falling into fuel poverty, with the input of stakeholders including Citizens Advice, Food Banks, local Trade Unions and Chambers of Commerce etc.

Upgrading the energy efficiency of homes is a strategy that both saves consumer costs, but also drives towards this Government's and our council's ambition of achieving net-zero carbon by 2050. Energy price caps, regulated by Ofgem, are set to rise to around £2,800 in October and to £3,000 in 2023 – putting many households below the poverty line.

As the County Council of Suffolk, we further seek this Council to:

- Support the Suffolk Public Sector Leadership Board (or similar), in urgently exploring a proposal to set up a crossparty and cross-authority 'Retrofit Task Force'
- 2. Take the lead, as the Countywide Local Authority, and host the newly formed Retrofit Taskforce to enact a model, similar to Mid Suffolk and Babergh District Councils New Build Design Code, and the Lewes model.
- 3. Help create a 'Suffolk Retrofit Academy', to train all Retrofit Assessors, Coordinators, and Advisors, creating a labour force ready to achieve net-zero by 2050 in the longer term, and allow opportunities to drive down consumer bills in the short term.

In addition, to provide significant savings to consumers and drive towards net-zero, we further call on this Government to:

- 4. Increase the Warm Homes Discount from £140 to £400 per year, expanding the number of eligible households to 9.3 million;
- 5. Expand the zero-rated VAT on the installation of Energy Saving Materials (ESMs) such as insulation to include the ESMs themselves, providing a further incentive and savings on consumers to insulate their homes;

6. Work with Local Authorities to roll out a street-by-street retrofitting programme, saving costs, and delivering quicker results with local expertise & Supply chains.

Finally, we ask that this Council:

7. Writes to all Suffolk MPs, the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, and the Chancellor of the Exchequer to outline all the actions and declarations above.'

Total results		
For	13	
Against	27	
Abstain		

**Conservative Group** 

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back			
Peter Beer			
Bobby Bennett			
Stuart Bird		Against	
Elaine Bryce			
Stephen Burroughes			
Nadia Cenci		Against	
Jenny Ceresa			
Chris Chambers			
Judy Cloke			
Andy Drummond			
Robert Everitt		Against	
Philip Faircloth-Mutton		Against	
James Finch		Against	
Jessica Fleming			
Mick Fraser			
David Goldsmith		Against	
Peter Gould			
Georgia Hall		Against	
Liz Harsant		Against	
Ryan Harvey			
T-J Haworth-Culf			
Matthew Hicks		Against	
Rachel Hood		Against	
Beccy Hopfensperger			
Christopher Hudson		Against	
Michael Ladd		Against	
Stuart Lawson			
Joe Mason			
Debbie McCallum			
Patti Mulcahy		Against	

Sam Murray		Against	
David Nettleton			
Graham Newman		Against	
Alexander Nicoll		Against	
Colin Noble		Against	
Kay Oakes		Against	
James Reeder		Against	
Andrew Reid		Against	
Debbie Richards		Against	
Craig Rivett			
David Roach		Against	
Keith Robinson		Against	
Richard Rout			
Richard Smith MVO		Against	
Karen Soons			
Heike Sowa			
Joanna Spicer		Against	
Lance Stanbury			
Jamie Starling			
Peter Thompson		Against	
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro			
Paul West		Against	
Steve Wiles			
Nathan Wilson	For		

**Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group** 

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Jessie Carter	For		
Annette Dunning			
Simon Harley	For		
Richard Kemp	For		
Robert Lindsay			
Inga Lockington			
Victor Lukaniuk	For		
Peggy McGregor			
Andy Mellen	For		
Penny Otton	For		
Caroline Page			
Keith Scarff	For		
Andrew Stringer			
Caroline Topping			
Keith Welham			

**Labour Group** 

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams	For		
Rob Bridgeman	For		
Elizabeth Johnson	For		
Sandy Martin	For		
Bill Quinton	For		