

Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 21 October 2021, vote taken on Motion 1 as amended.

Motion 1 – Proposed by Councillor Matthew Hicks and seconded by Councillor Richard Rout.

Motion Text: This Council is committed to achieving its 2030 net zero target and working with partners across the county to deliver on the Suffolk Climate Emergency Plan.

We condemn the recent action of Insulate Britain on our nation's roads and the recent vandalism of local authority property in Ipswich and elsewhere by Burning Pink.

The Council absolutely supports the right to peaceful protest and welcomes engagement on environmental issues. However, it is our firm belief that protests such as those by Insulate Britain - must not disrupt the lives, or damage the livelihoods, of other people; put undue pressure on our emergency services; or damage property.

The Council calls on all campaign groups to adhere to these standards as we work together to achieve our net zero goals.

Total results	
For	41
Against	9
Abstain	7

Conservative Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back	For		
Peter Beer	For		
Bobby Bennett	For		
Stuart Bird	For		
Elaine Bryce	For		
Stephen Burroughes	For		
Nadia Cenci	For		
Jenny Ceresa			
Chris Chambers	For		
Judy Cloke	For		
Andy Drummond			
Robert Everitt			
Philip Faircloth-Mutton	For		
James Finch	For		
Jessica Fleming	For		

Mick Fraser	For	
David Goldsmith	For	
Peter Gould	For	
Georgia Hall	For	
Liz Harsant	For	
Ryan Harvey		
T-J Haworth-Culf		
Matthew Hicks	For	
Rachel Hood	For	
Beccy Hopfensperger		
Christopher Hudson	For	
Michael Ladd	For	
Stuart Lawson		
Joe Mason	For	
Debbie McCallum		
Patti Mulcahy		
Sam Murray	For	
David Nettleton	For	
Graham Newman	For	
Alexander Nicoll	For	
Colin Noble	For	
Kay Oakes		
James Reeder	For	
Andrew Reid	For	
Debbie Richards	For	
Craig Rivett	For	
David Roach	For	
Keith Robinson	For	
Richard Rout	For	
Richard Smith MVO	For	
Karen Soons	For	
Heike Sowa	For	
Joanna Spicer	For	
Lance Stanbury		
Jamie Starling	For	
Peter Thompson		
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro		
Paul West	For	
Steve Wiles		
Nathan Wilson	For	

Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Jessie Carter			
Annette Dunning		Against	
Simon Harley		Against	
Richard Kemp			
Robert Lindsay		Against	

Inga Lockington		Abstain
Victor Lukaniuk		Abstain
Peggy McGregor	Against	
Andy Mellen	Against	
Penny Otton	Against	
Caroline Page	Against	
Keith Scarff		Abstain
Andrew Stringer	Against	
Caroline Topping		Abstain
Keith Welham	Against	

Labour Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams			Abstain
Rob Bridgeman			
Elizabeth Johnson			
Sandy Martin			Abstain
Bill Quinton			Abstain