

Motion: Amendment proposed by Councillor Richard Rout and seconded by Councillor Nick Gowrlev.

Data from the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy highlights the hugely variable costs relating to energy production in the UK. For projects starting in 2015, levelised cost estimates ranged from £162/MWh for Open-Cycle Gas Turbine to £62/MWh for Onshore Wind.

This Council acknowledges the costs associated with energy production, and the benefits, both financial and environmental, of moving to a low-carbon energy future. These benefits include the alleviation of fuel poverty.

Suffolk, in its aspiration to be the Greenest County, will continue to lead the way to this future.

This Council therefore <u>pledges to continue working with</u> all partners, including the New Anglia LEP, to have a coordinated approach in moving to a clean, smart and low-carbon energy future.

Further, this Council resolves to <u>deliver the Local Energy Strategy which includes the potential implementation of smart grid pilots in Suffolk. Indeed, our battery installation at Constantine House represents the beginnings of this.</u>

Finally, this Council urges any future administration to look to ensure all energy use in the Council will come from low carbon or renewable sources when we procure again for beyond 2022.

Furthermore, this Council will continue to maximise clean energy production from our own estate which not only helps the environment but saves the Suffolk taxpayer money.

Total Results	
For	39
Against	15
Abstain	6

Conservative Group	For	Against	Abstain
Mark Bee	×		
Peter Beer	×		
Stuart Bird	×		
Stephen Burroughes			
Louis Busuttil	×		
Jenny Ceresa			
Chris Chambers	×		
Mary Evans	×		
Robert Everitt			×
James Finch	×		
Jessica Fleming	×		
Paula Fox			
Quillon Fox			
Mick Fraser	×		
David Goldsmith	×		
Tony Goldson		×	
Nick Gowrley	×		
Gary Green	^		
Matthew Hicks	×		
Rachel Hood	×		
	×		
Beccy Hopfensperger	X		
Christopher Hudson Gordon Jones			
	X		
Michael Ladd	×		
Stuart Lawson	×		
Guy McGregor	×		
Robin Millar	×		
Graham Newman	×		
Alexander Nicoll	×		
Colin Noble			
Patricia O'Brien			
Russ Rainger	×		
James Reeder	×		
Andrew Reid	×		
David Ritchie	×		
Craig Rivett	×		
David Roach	×		
Keith Robinson	×		
Richard Rout	×		
Richard Smith MVO	×		
Karen Soons	×		
Colin Spence	×		
Joanna Spicer	×		
Jamie Starling			
Jane Storey			
Robin Vickery	×		
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro	×		
Paul West	×		
Robert Whiting	X		
Steve Wiles	×		

Labour Group	For	Against	Abstain
Jack Abbott		×	
Sarah Adams			
Helen Armitage		×	
Kathy Bole			
Kim Clements		×	
Sandra Gage		×	
Peter Gardiner		×	
Mandy Gaylard		×	
Jack Owen		×	
Keith Patience			×
Bill Quinton		×	

Liberal Democrat, Green & Independent Group	For	Against	Abstain
Trevor Beckwith	×		
Elfrede Brambley-Crawshaw			×
John Field		×	
Richard Kemp			
Robert Lindsay			×
Inga Lockington		×	
Victor Lukaniuk		×	
David Nettleton		×	
Penny Otton		×	
Caroline Page			×
Andrew Stringer			×
David Wood		×	

Independent	For	Against	Abstain
Steve Ardley			