

**Motion:** In accordance with Rule 3.1, the following Motion has been received: Schools Funding

Proposed by Cllr Graham Newman; seconded by Cllr Rebecca Hopfensperger

## This Council:

- Notes that the Dedicated Schools Grant (DSG) for Suffolk is well below the national average and below the grant of many similar shire counties, and
- Congratulates the Suffolk Schools' Forum and local MPs on their efforts to bring this anomaly to the attention of the Government

The Council calls on the Government to:

- Adopt an activity-led funding formula methodology which demonstrates clearly what the money provided will actually purchase in terms of services to young people
- Recognise the extra costs for areas of rural sparsity which are not currently recognised in the distribution formula, particularly in the matter of transport costs and offering parents genuine alternatives
- Ensure that the calculation of the supplementary grant to academies (Local Authority Centre Spend Equivalent Grant (LACSEG)) is done in such a way as not to financially disadvantage those schools that choose to remain as part of the Local Authority family.

Total Results	
For	63
Against	
Abstain	1

Conservative Group	For	Against	Abstain
Eddy Alcock	×		
Nick Barber			
Mike Barnard	×		
Mark Bee	×		
Peter Beer	×		
Peter Bellfield	×		
Bill Bishop			
Michael Bond			
Lisa Chambers	X		
Terry Clements	×		
Carol Debman	X		
James Finch	×		
Phillip French	X		
Stephen Frost	^		
John Goldsmith	×		
Tony Goldson	×		
John Goodwin			
	X		
Kathy Gosling	X		
Anne Gower	X		
Gary Green	×		
Colin Hart	X		
Rebecca Hopfensperger	×		
Christopher Hudson	X		
Steven Hudson	×		
Colin Law			
Deanna Law	×		
Rae Leighton	×		
Tim Marks	×		
Guy McGregor	×		
Charles Michell	×		
Jane Midwood	×		
Graham Newman	×		
Colin Noble	×		
Patricia O'Brien	×		
Stefan Oliver	×		
Jeremey Pembroke	×		
Bruce Provan	×		
Chris Punt	×		
Andrew Reid	×		
David Ritchie	×		
Mary Rudd	×		
Bill Sadler	×		
Ken Sale			
John Sayers	×		
Richard Smith	×		
Colin Spence	×		
Joanna Spicer	X		
Jane Storey	×		
Judy Terry	X		
Robin Vickery	×		
Paul West	×		
Anne Whybrow	×		
David Yorke-Edwards	×		
Mary Young	×		
liviary roung	_ ^	<u> </u>	

Green and Independent Group	For	Against	Abstain
Trevor Beckwith	×		
Mark Ereira	×		
Andrew Stringer	×		

Labour Group	For	Against	Abstain
Peter Gardiner	×		
Susan Maguire			
Sandy Martin	×		
Bryony Rudkin	×		

Liberal Democrat and Independent Group	For	Against	Abstain
Andrew Cann			
Jane Chambers	×		
Craig Dearden-Phillips MBE			
John Field	×		
David Grutchfield	×		
Richard Kemp	×		
Inga Lockington	×		
Penny Otton	×		
Caroline Page	×		
Kathy Pollard			
Julia Truelove	×		
David Wood	×		

UKIP	For	Against	Abstain
Bill Mountford			×