

## Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 22 May 2025, vote taken on Motion 3.

Motion – Proposed by Councillor Sandy Martin and seconded by Councillor Rob Bridgeman.

Motion Text: 'Since their introduction in the Police Reform Act 2002, Police Community Support Officers have made a major contribution to deterring crime, detecting and dealing with anti-social behaviour, and reassuring the law-abiding residents of Suffolk. Currently, however, unlike warranted police officers, there is no long-service medal for PCSOs to show society's appreciation for the work that they have done.

This Council notes the Petition to Parliament for a 20-year long-service medal for PCSOs initiated by Peter Smith, himself a serving PCSO, and supported by PCSOs, PCCs, and Councillors of most parties in various parts of England. Therefore, in recognition of the dedication of PCSOs in Suffolk, this Council resolves to:

- 1) Encourage all County Councillors to sign the petition before the deadline of 28 May 2025;
- 2) Write to the Home Secretary urging her to give due consideration to the Petition.'

Total results	
For	44
Against	0
Abstain	1

**Conservative Group** 

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back	For		
Peter Beer	For		
Bobby Bennett	For		
Stuart Bird	For		
Elaine Bryce			
Stephen Burroughes	For		
Nadia Cenci			
Jenny Ceresa			
Chris Chambers	For		
Judy Cloke			
Andy Drummond	For		
Philip Faircloth-Mutton	For		
James Finch	For		
Jessica Fleming	For		
Mick Fraser	For		
David Goldsmith	For		

Georgia Hall		
Liz Harsant		
Ryan Harvey		
T-J Haworth-Culf		
Matthew Hicks	For	
Rachel Hood		
Beccy Hopfensperger	For	
Michael Ladd	For	
Stuart Lawson		
Henry Lloyd	For	
Joe Mason	For	
Debbie McCallum		
Patti Mulcahy		
Sam Murray	For	
David Nettleton		
Alexander Nicoll		
Colin Noble	For	
Kay Oakes		
James Reeder	For	
Andrew Reid	For	
Debbie Richards	For	
David Roach	For	
Keith Robinson	For	
Richard Rout	For	
Richard Smith MVO	For	
Karen Soons		
Heike Sowa		Abstain
Joanna Spicer	For	
Lance Stanbury		
Jamie Starling		
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro		
Paul West	For	
Steve Wiles	For	
Nathan Wilson	For	 

Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Seamus Bennett			
Jessie Carter	For		
Annette Dunning	For		
Simon Harley			
Richard Kemp			
Ruth Leach	For		
Ash Lever	For		
Robert Lindsay	For		
Inga Lockington	For		
Victor Lukaniuk	For		
Andy Mellen			

Penny Otton		
Keith Scarff	For	
Andrew Stringer	For	
Caroline Topping	For	
Keith Welham	For	

**Labour Group** 

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Rob Bridgeman	For		
Peter Byatt			
Adele Cook	For		
Elizabeth Farrow			
Sandy Martin	For		
Lucy Smith			

Ungrouped Independent Councillor

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Peter Thompson			

Ungrouped Reform UK Councillor

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Christopher Hudson			