

## Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 7 December 2023, vote taken on Motion 1.

Motion 1 – Proposed by Councillor Mick Fraser and seconded by Councillor Jessica Fleming.

Motion Text: 'Suffolk County Council is proud to reaffirm our support for our Armed Forces communities and military bases in Suffolk. In this period following Armistice Day and Remembrance Sunday, we would like to pay special tribute and thank all those who have served, or continue to serve, in our military.

Furthermore, this council extends its gratitude to our allies from the United States of America stationed at U.S. Air Force bases in our county. We endeavour to uphold our long and noble tradition of military presence in Suffolk and the communities which surround it.

In March 2022, Suffolk County Council unanimously passed a motion condemning Russia's illegal invasion of Ukraine. We recognise the importance of maintaining our military troops and bases across Suffolk and their strategic significance in the face of emerging global threats. Wherever possible, we will champion and support the current size and nature of military forces and bases here in Suffolk.

The Council places on record its support for His Majesty's Government's £10m to support the Veterans Places, Pathways and People Programme and the aspiration to commit at least 2.5% of GDP to Defence spending.

We wish all those serving in the Armed Forces a peaceful and joyful Christmas, especially those away from their families and loved ones during this festive period.'

Total results	
For	50
Against	
Abstain	5

**Conservative Group** 

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back	For		
Peter Beer			
Bobby Bennett	For		
Stuart Bird	For		
Elaine Bryce			
Stephen Burroughes	For		
Nadia Cenci	For		
Jenny Ceresa			
Chris Chambers	For		

Judy Cloke		
Andy Drummond		
Robert Everitt	For	
Philip Faircloth-Mutton	For	
James Finch	For	
Jessica Fleming	For	
Mick Fraser	For	
David Goldsmith	For	
Peter Gould	1 01	
Georgia Hall		
Liz Harsant	For	
	1 01	
Ryan Harvey T-J Haworth-Culf		
Matthew Hicks	For	
Rachel Hood	1 01	
	For	
Beccy Hopfensperger	For	
Christopher Hudson Michael Ladd		
	For	
Stuart Lawson	For	
Joe Mason	For	
Debbie McCallum		
Patti Mulcahy	F	
Sam Murray	For	
David Nettleton	_	
Alexander Nicoll	For	
Colin Noble	For	
Kay Oakes	For	
James Reeder	For	
Andrew Reid	For	
Debbie Richards	For	
Craig Rivett		
David Roach	For	
Keith Robinson	For	
Richard Rout	For	
Richard Smith MVO	For	
Karen Soons		
Heike Sowa	For	
Joanna Spicer	For	
Lance Stanbury	For	
Jamie Starling	For	
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro		
Paul West	For	
Steve Wiles	For	
Nathan Wilson	For	

Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Seamus Bennett	For		
Jessie Carter	For		
Annette Dunning			Abstain
Simon Harley	For		
Richard Kemp	For		
Ruth Leach	For		
Ash Lever			Abstain
Robert Lindsay			Abstain
Inga Lockington	For		
Victor Lukaniuk	For		
Andy Mellen	For		
Penny Otton			
Keith Scarff	For		
Andrew Stringer			Abstain
Caroline Topping	For		
Keith Welham			Abstain

Labour Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams			
Rob Bridgeman	For		
Elizabeth Johnson	For		
Sandy Martin	For		
Lucy Smith			

**Ungrouped Councillor** 

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Peter Thompson			