Information events, initial visits and preparation courses

For more information about our forthcoming recruitment events, arranging an initial visit and attending a preparation course

Information events in 2014

If you would like to talk to some Suffolk Foster Carers and representatives from the Fostering Service more informally, we will be available at the following events:

CLICK HERE to find out more about our Zipwire MTFC Information Event on Friday 17th October.

Location Date
Lowestoft, Barclays Bank, 61 London Road North, NR32 1LT
Thursday 20th November 09:00 to 15:00
Ipswich, ASDA, Stoke Park Drive, IP2 9EG  Thursday 20th November 11:00 to 14:00
Felixstowe, Morrisons, Grange Farm Avenue, IP11 2XD Friday 21st November 11:00 to 13:00 and 16:00 to 18:00
Beccles, Morrisons, George Westwood Way, NR34 9EJ
Saturday 22nd November 11:00 to 15:00
Sudbury Library, Market Hill, CO10 2EN Sunday 23rd November 10:00 to 14:00
Lowestoft, The Ark Children's Centre, Water Lane Thursday 27th November 
Lowestoft, Britten Centre, 18 London Road North, NR32 1LR Saturday 29th November 09:30 to 16:00
Bury St Edmunds, Wyevale Garden Centre, Rougham Road, IP33 2RN  Sunday 30th November 10:00 to 16:30
Newmarket Library, 1a The Guineas, CB8 8EQ Tuesday 2nd December 09:30 to 12:30
Ipswich, Barclays Bank, 1 Princes Street, IP1 1PB Friday 5th December 11:00 to 14:00

We will be aiming to visit all towns in Suffolk over the coming few weeks and months so look forward to meeting you there.

If you would like to arrange to call into our main office in Ipswich to discuss fostering in person please call us on 01473 264800 or follow us on Facebook to find out about future events.

Preparation courses

Following the home visit, the next stage in the process is to attend our preparation course. This course is broken down into several sessions, held over a couple of weeks, generally including two Saturdays and one evening. Our preparation course will help you decide if fostering is right for you and your family, and to start to learn the skills and information required to help you look after the child you foster.

Dates for this year's preparation courses are as follows:

Preparation course dates and locations 

Location  2014 Dates
Stowmarket

Starting: Saturday 13th September (10am - 4pm)

Wednesday 17th September (7pm - 9.30pm)

Ending: Saturday 20th September (10am - 4pm)

Lowestoft

Starting: Saturday 4th October (10am - 4pm)

Wednesday 8th October (7pm - 9.30pm)

Ending: Saturday 11th October (10am - 4pm)