

Motion: Motion 1 - Proposed by Councillor Sandra Gage and seconded by Councillor Peter Byatt

"Highways Maintenance Permit Scheme

This Council understands the importance of keeping our county road network open and available to all for the benefit of sustainable economic growth of Suffolk communities and businesses.

This Council is therefore committed, as the highway authority, to providing Suffolk with both a high standard road network and to take appropriate action to ensure any disruption, due to roadworks, is effectively managed to the benefit of Suffolk and the travelling public. Therefore, this Council calls on the administration to use best practice already in place elsewhere in many Local Authorities across England and adopt a Highways Permit Scheme

- Facilitate the better coordination and cooperation between this Highway Authority, utility companies and any other organisations seeking to undertake roadworks
- Minimise the impact of roadworks by rigorously requiring applications to work in the highway to be for the least inconvenience to the public, and for all overrunning of works to be subject to an appropriate penalty
- Improve the confidence of Suffolk residents in the actual roadworks information published."

Total Results	
For	31
Against	34
Abstain	0

Conservative Group	For	Against	Abstain
Jenny Antill		×	
Nick Barber		×	
Mark Bee		×	
Peter Beer		×	
Michael Bond		×	
Stephen Burroughes		×	
Terry Clements		×	
Mary Evans		×	
James Finch			
Jessica Fleming		×	
Tony Goldson		×	
John Goodwin		×	
Michael Gower		×	
Gary Green			
Matthew Hicks		×	
Beccy Hopfensperger		×	
Christopher Hudson		×	
Gordon Jones		×	
Michael Ladd		×	
Guy McGregor		×	
Robin Millar		×	
Graham Newman		×	
Colin Noble		×	
Patricia O'Brien		×	
Chris Punt			
Andrew Reid		×	
David Ritchie		×	
John Sayers		×	
Richard Smith		×	
Colin Spence		×	
Joanna Spicer		×	
Sarah Stamp		×	
Jane Storey		×	
Robin Vickery		×	
James Waters			
Paul West		×	
Robert Whiting		×	

Green and Independent Group	For	Against	Abstain
Trevor Beckwith	×		
Mark Ereira			
Andrew Stringer	×		

Independent	For	Against	Abstain
David Nettleton		×	

Labour Group	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams	×		
Helen Armitage	×		
Sonia Barker	X		
Kathy Bole	×		
Peter Byatt	X		
Kim Clements			
Janet Craig	×		
Sandra Gage	×		
Peter Gardiner	×		
Mandy Gaylard	×		
Leonard Jacklin	×		
Sandy Martin	×		
Keith Patience	×		
Bill Quinton	×		
Bryony Rudkin	X		

Liberal Democrat and Independent Group	For	Against	Abstain
David Busby	×		
John Field	×		
Richard Kemp	×		
Inga Lockington	×		
Penny Otton	×		
Caroline Page			
Trevor Sheldrick	×		
Julia Truelove			
David Wood	×		

UKIP Group	For	Against	Abstain
Tony Brown	×		
John Burns	×		
James Crossley			
Julian Flood	×		
David Hudson	×		
Bill Mountford	×		
Bert Poole	×		
Stephen Searle	×		
Reg Silvester	×		