

Motion: Motion 1 Concessionary bus passes

Proposed by Councillor Caroline Page and seconded by Councillor John Field.

Amended by Councillor Guy McGregor and seconded by Councillor Tony Goldson

"Concessionary bus passes are now not valid before 9:30 on weekdays. This causes
passenger demand to stretch or exceed capacity at that time but leaves earlier services
underutilised. It delays travel to popular shopping destinations making social contact,
refreshments and shopping difficult to accomplish before a return home for lunch is necessary.
Social contact, exercise and economic activity for the 60+ age group is unnecessarily
restricted. It also inhibits free travel to hospital and GP appointments.

For those who hold concessionary bus passes for reasons of disability, including learning disability, the restriction before 9:30 prevents the use of the bus to reach training establishments and associated learning. Disabled people are prevented from learning to get about independently, cannot build the confidence that independent travel brings or develop the habits involved in work.

This Council therefore resolves to;

Refer this item back to Cabinet,

- i) to consider that those pass holders eligible due to age, shall be able to travel using their passes from 9 o'clock throughout the week,
- ii) to consider all time limitations on buses for those pass holders eligible due to disability, and
- iii) to inform the responsible Minister of the Department of Transport, that the projected shortfall of income from central Government for the conessionary scheme is £1m and to urge him to ensure that any shortfall is met by central Government."

Total Results	
For	64
Against	
Abstain	

Conservative Group	For	Against	Abstain
Eddy Alcock	×		
Nick Barber	×		
Mike Barnard			
Mark Bee	×		
Peter Beer	×		
Peter Bellfield	×		
Bill Bishop	×		
Michael Bond	×		
Lisa Chambers	×		
Terry Clements	×		
Carol Debman	×		
James Finch	×		
Phillip French			
Stephen Frost	×		
John Goldsmith	7.		
Tony Goldson	×		
John Goodwin	×		
Kathy Gosling	×		
Anne Gower	×		
Gary Green	×		
Russell Harsant	×		
Colin Hart	×		
Rebecca Hopfensperger	×		
Steven Hudson	×		
John Klaschka	_ ^		
Colin Law	×		
Deanna Law			
Rae Leighton			
Tim Marks	×		
Guy McGregor	×		
Charles Michell	×		
Jane Midwood	×		
Graham Newman	×		
Colin Noble			
Patricia O'Brien	×		
Stefan Oliver			
Jeremey Pembroke	×		
Bruce Provan			
Chris Punt	×		
Andrew Reid	×		
David Ritchie	×		
Mary Rudd			
Bill Sadler	×		
Ken Sale			
John Sayers	×		
Richard Smith	X		
	X		
Colin Spence	X		
Joanna Spicer	X		
Jane Storey	X		
Judy Terry	×		
Robin Vickery	X		
Paul West			
Anne Whybrow	×		
David Yorke-Edwards			
Mary Young	×		

Green and Independent Group	For	Against	Abstain
Trevor Beckwith	×		
Mark Ereira			
Andrew Stringer	×		

Labour Group	For	Against	Abstain
Peter Gardiner			
Susan Maguire	×		
Sandy Martin	×		
Bryony Rudkin	×		

Liberal Democrat and Independent Group	For	Against	Abstain
Andrew Cann	×		
Jane Chambers	×		
Craig Dearden-Phillips MBE	×		
John Field	×		
David Grutchfield	×		
Richard Kemp	×		
Inga Lockington	×		
Penny Otton			
Caroline Page	×		
Kathy Pollard			
Julia Truelove	×		
David Wood	×		

UKIP	For	Against	Abstain
Bill Mountford	×		